Things You Need to Know about Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games

Posted by & filed under .

The Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games commenced on July 23, 2014 and it will end on August 4, 2014. This year, it was officially opened by Queen Elizabeth II. The Commonwealth Games is held every four years and this year’s host city is Glasgow, England. There were seventy one teams who joined the sporting event.


The motto is “People, Place, Passion”.  The main venue is in Hampden Park. If you want to know more, here are other things that you need to know about Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games:

  • Participating nations: As mentioned earlier, there are seventy one teams or nations joining the Commonwealth Games. Some of the countries include Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Canada, Cyprus, England, Falkland, Gibraltar, Grenada, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Maldives, New Zealand, Nigeria, Pakistan, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Samoa, Scotland, Singapore, Tanzania, Tuvalu, Uganda, Wales, Zambia, etc.


  • Events: You should know that there are twenty sports contested in the Commonwealth Games. According to reports, a total of 261 medals will be given to champions. Sports include table tennis, weightlifting, rugby sevens, swimming, netball, wrestling, boxing, judo, gymnastics, diving, squash, lawn bowls, badminton, triathlon, cycling, shooting, and hockey. There were disciplines removed from the Commonwealth Games in 2010. Removed sports include synchronized swimming and Greco-Roman wrestling. New disciplines are added to include mixed triathlon and women’s boxing.

If you missed the event, you can always watch the reply. If you are really determined to witness it personally, you have to wait for the next four years though. To date, Singaporean athletes are making a wave in swimming and table tennis. It should be recognized by other Singaporeans.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *